Registration opens April 2019 San Diego,CA September 18-21, 2019

2019 Tapia Conference

iAAMCS Guidelines for Succefully Mentoring Black/African-American Computing Sciences Ph.D. Students

Friday, September 21, 2018 — 1:30PM - 3:00PM

The Institute for African-American Mentoring in the Computing Sciences (iAAMCS) developed guidelines to maximize successful strategies for mentoring Black/African-American doctoral students in the Computing Sciences (CS). We define “student mentoring” as the process of supporting, encouraging, and overseeing students’ academic and social progress with the goal of facilitating career and personal development. Drawing from prior research on underrepresented students in CS and the role of mentoring, the following guidelines emerged: (1) recruit strategically, (2) establish community, (3) foster a research culture, (4) provide holistic advising, (5) provide funding, and (6) promote professional development. It is our hope that institutions, departments, and faculty use these guidelines to bolster the participation of Black/African-American students pursuing doctoral degrees in CS-related fields. Although the original formation of the iAAMCS Guidelines serves as best practices for mentoring Black/African-American students in computing, these strategies are useful in optimal mentoring of all students. Research on Black/African-Americans in CS suggests that implementation of the practices outlined in the guidelines will enable Black/African-American students to persist and graduate in CS Ph.D. programs across the US. Integral to the iAAMCS Guidelines is the assertion that inclusion is key to the success of Black/African-Americans in CS and that inclusion is the responsibility of all campus constituents. Using the “7 Barriers to STEM Disciplines and the Ph.D.” as a rubric, the following guidelines aim to mitigate the challenges Black/African-American students face in pursuit of a CS doctoral degree

Jeremy A. M. Waisome, University of Florida
Juan E. Gilbert, University of Florida
Jerlando F. L. Jackson, University of Wisconsin-Madison
Kyla McMullen, University of Florida
Monica H. Anderson, University of Alabama